When you get a conviction for driving while intoxicated in New Jersey, you face criminal as well as financial repercussions. While you may have to spend time in jail or prison, participate in substance abuse treatment and drive with an ignition interlock device in your car, among other repercussions, you are also going to have to pay fines, fees and considerably more for insurance coverage after a conviction for DWI.
How much of an insurance hike might you expect after a New Jersey DWI? Per Insure.com, most New Jersey motorists see their annual automotive insurance premiums rise by 132% in the wake of a DWI conviction.
How much of an increase to anticipate
Research shows that the average New Jersey driver who has no DWIs in his or her driving history pays an estimated $1,419 per year for car insurance. Yet, after that 132% increase, the typical New Jersey motorist with one DWI winds up paying about $3,292 for insurance. This comes out to an annual increase of $1,873.
How to find the lowest premium available to you
You may find that your current insurer does not want to insure you anymore once you have an arrest for drunk driving in your history. Even if it does offer to continue covering you, consider getting quotes from multiple insurance providers before choosing one. Each company uses its own formulas to calculate how much to charge you, and some are much more forgiving when a driver has a DWI than others are.
A New Jersey DWI may impact your insurance rights for up to 10 years following a conviction.